GippsTAFE rewards outstanding Warragul campus staff

2010 Warragul Staff Awards
Jan Bruce and Kerryn Vaughan of Warragul have been recognised by their colleagues for their outstanding contribution over the last 12 months, winning a GippsTAFE staff award.

The project for which they were nominated was the successful development and delivery of new tailored programs for industry in Autism training. 

Ms Bruce and Ms Vaughan work in the Disability Department at the Warragul Campus and they were nominated by their Team Leader and Campus Manager with the support of three external referees.

Their nomination said: “Jan and Kerryn have been nominated because they are teachers who are dedicated to their field, and are passionate about developing innovative and engaging training programs to raise the awareness of autism.”

Some of the feedback received regarding Jan and Kerryn’s training sessions has included such comments as: “Very supportive and perceptive to individual’s learning needs” and “Awesome training, will stay in my memory due to the trainers.” Another added: “Brilliant, can we clone you or bottle up your enthusiasm?”

The team has delivered the training to the Department of Human Services (DHS) and the Baw Baw Shire.  Both of these organisations were referees.

Baw Baw Shire commented on the innovation displayed by Ms Bruce and Ms Vaughan in being able to integrate learning methods with interactive opportunities which kept the group interested and at the same time, delivered the module as required.  They have also commented that the professional and personal mix of knowledge, skills and expertise in autism and disabilities made it an “emotional educational experience”. 

DHS said it believed the training program has had a “significant impact on client outcomes”.

The pair is now introducing innovative weekend workshops to educational support officers from primary and secondary schools, in order to assist them to further understand students on the autism spectrum. 

Latrobe Valley based staff to earn awards included Rachael Quinlan (Flexibility) who also earned the overall honour of taking out the Chief Executive Officer’s award, Maryann Ure (Sustainability) who was nominated by her Campus Manager and her General Manager in the categories of both Responsiveness and Sustainability; and Frances Dodd (Transformation) who earned her award for her work in the successful implementation of GippsTAFE’s new Electronic Records Management Application (ERMA). 

The other awards winner was Vanessa Marsh from the Leongatha Campus in the Responsiveness Category.