GippsTAFE farewells departing Board Directors

Board Farewell
GippsTAFE paid tribute to Mr John Swarbrick and Mr Richard Gubbins at a formal retirement dinner held in honour and recognition of their dedicated service and leadership to the GippsTAFE Board.

Chair of the GippsTAFE Board, Mr David Gittins acknowledged Mr Gubbins and Mr Swarbrick for their tremendous contribution to education in Gippsland, which consists collectively of more than thirty years of service.

“Mr Gubbins and Mr Swarbrick have been passionate advocates for GippsTAFE, and they leave the Board with much integrity and success” said Mr Gittins.

“We would be remiss if we did not acknowledge the dedication, hard work, and efforts of departing Board Directors, John Swarbrick and Richard Gubbins. Both have been pivotal contributors to the Board and have been exceedingly diligent in meeting the governance and reporting requirements of our agreement with the State Government” added Mr Gittins.

Mr Swarbrick leaves the GippsTAFE Board after sixteen years of dedicated service and leadership. Mr Swarbrick was elected as the Institute Board President on two separate occasions during his Board tenure and provided significant leadership as a member of the Audit and Finance Committee’s.

Similarly, Mr Gubbins leaves the GippsTAFE Board after sixteen years of dedicated service. Mr Gubbins undertook various roles during his Board tenure including, member of the Finance, Executive and Audit Committee’s. As Chairperson of the Board of Studies, Mr Gubbins also provided significant leadership on matters pertinent to the academic standards, processes and services provided by the Institute.

GippsTAFE CEO, Dr Peter Whitley commented that both Mr Gubbins and Mr Swarbrick can be proud of their contribution to the educational sector and the advancements that they have made to GippsTAFE.

“They leave a legacy of strong and stable governance processes that will ensure the continued success and growth of GippsTAFE” added Dr Whitley. GippsTAFE looks forward to announcing replacement Board Directors in the near future.

Pictured from left to right: GippsTAFE Chief Executive, Dr Peter Whitley, John Swarbrick, GippsTAFE Board President, David Gittins and Richard Gubbins.